Early birds?

I l o v e getting up early during summer holidays. No that I always manage to do that, because it very often happens that I give up in the morning and sleep longer. But it’s just very motivating when you get up at let’s say 7:00 a.m. and then at 11:00 a.m. you feel like you’ve done so much already and it’s still the beginning of the day and you have so much time left!

So now I’m trying to build up three new, good habits at once:

-Waking up early in the morning!
– Eating healthy
– Blogging regularly.

I was thinking about what to write in today’s post, and I guess because of that I came up with this idea: good habits.

Pretty much everyone these days wants to change something in his or her life, be it eating less sweets or stop saying weird things because of not thinking before. So today I decided to write about how to start building up a new habit.

***

#1 First things first – set a starting date – be it in two minutes, or tomorrow morning – and stick toit!!! You don’t want to begin building up your new, shiny, fantastic habit with a failure. Let it not be the case of eternally saying “I’m starting the diet tomorrow” – and then tomorrow never comes. 😉

#2 Plan.You want to be all ready when the starting date comes, so make yourself a cup of good tea, garb a piece of paper and a pen (or a laptop), sit down and think. Write down your thoughts and turn them into a plan. Personally, I like creating tables – I write “NOW” on one side, with a date, and goals that I want to achieve on the other. And when I achieve them, I write down a date next to the goal, so that I know how much time that took me.

#3 Go with the plan. You don’t have to go fast, you just have to be consequent. What’s more to say here? 🙂

#4 Celebrate your success! Not only the final, big succeses, but also the smaller ones that come along the way. Tell your friends, throw a party, or just have a well-deserved break or a cookie. But celebrate – it’s very important, because it gives you the sense of having achieved something and the motivation to go further and set up new, more challenging goals for yourself.

***

I know, another set of rules. But believe me, it’s not something I found on the net or somewhere. I made these up basing on my experience, on what helped me, what works for me. It doesn’t mean it has to work for you.

I just wanted to share these ideas – hopefully someone finds them useful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

